Farewell, Friend.

A/N: I lost someone some time ago. I don’t think you can ever move on from that. 


Sometimes, I think about you.

What it’s like up there, if you can see us, if you miss us.

I know we weren’t exactly the closest of friends, but you made one of my best friends happier than I have ever seen her. And I’ll never be able to thank you for that. I won’t ever be able to tell you how glad I am you were there for her, you made her laugh, smile, you made her happy, you made her feel safe, wanted, loved, important, needed.

She misses you. I can see it. Though she doesn’t like to show it, but she forgets I’ve known her for years. We all miss you, in our own way. And now you’re not here. You were larger than life, loudest laugh I’d ever heard anywhere and a bright smile that seemed to cheer anyone up. And I wish I could tell you how much I really appreciate you being there for her.

You were taken before your time. A hopeful and smart man, who knew what he wanted in life, though a lot, happened and there was a lot of bad, a lot of awful and ugly. But there was good, so much goodness and fun times, spent laughing more than I ever had or perhaps, ever will.

Today I am reminded that life is short and precious. And we don’t have a lot of time to say the things we mean. So, in light of that, I’d like to just thank you for being there. I hope you found the stars you were searching for, and if not, I’m sure they found them in you.

Farewell, friend.

Leave a Reply

