All Good Things Must Come To An End.


Week 39: A story with only one character.


I am not of human origin.

I come from elsewhere and yet I am everywhere. I am the air you breathe, the sun you feel, the waves you float in. The grass you touch, the smell of cookies. I am everything and nothing. I have no beginning nor do I have an end. The light you see and wonder you feel, the stories you imagine, the books you read, the things you hold and love you feel, I am all and nothing.

I do not feel pain, nor do I feel grief. I appear perfect and yet, I have flaws I shall never be able to lose. I make sense and yet, no one understands me. My character is not of this world, it is not common and it does not have an explanation. I was here when the sun dawned and the moon rose, and I shall be here when the Earth falls and all things to come to an end.

I will never cease to exist, when the cycle starts again, I shall be there. Waiting, for life to notice me, to see me and feel me. I shall wait for their belief and hope, their love and wonder. For I have no purpose if all ceased to believe in me. I am a tale told to children, a guardian to the religious and a question to the curious.

I am wordless and yet all knowing. I know your fate; I know your beginning. I know all and nothing. I cannot cry and nor can I feel pain. Yet, I feel sorry for them, I really do.

They are beautiful and cruel. They are smart and mind-numbingly ignorant. They are a gift and a curse. They are contradictory in every way. And when the end comes, I shall be sorry to see them go.

But all good things come to an end, so that something better can take its place.

One thought on “All Good Things Must Come To An End.

Leave a Reply

